April 13, 2010

On a quick, delicious, and convenient lunch/dinner recipe.

Posted in Uncategorized at 10:10 pm by Dani

Seriously. Your average on the go mom (or on the go student, like me) can do this.

My school schedule is such that I’m in school from the afternoon until night. I usually don’t eat before I leave the house, so by 3 I get really hungry. I don’t like buying food from school. Last time I got a sandwich from the coffee shop the list of ingredient was over 2 inches long, in tiny font. Scary, right? So I like to make my own lunches. Problem is, morning before class is when I get all my work done, go to the gym, etc. Even though class starts at 1, I’m almost always rushing to get out of the house.

Conclusion? I like food that’s quick and easy to assemble. I don’t want it to be prepackaged processed food. I’ve come up with several easy meals that can be taken with me, and here is one of my favorites:

First lets talk about what you’ll need. I usually have chicken breasts frozen in the freezer. They sell them in bags at costco, but you can also buy packs from the meat section of your market or at the butcher’s. Just freeze the cuts of chicken separately, that way you can defrost just one if that’s what you need. You’ll also need some spices, or just salt and pepper if you don’t have anything more interesting.

You’ll also need spinach. Of course, fresh, steamed spinach is the best. But lets be honest here: most of the time you’re not going to want to sit there and steam spinach. Also, fresh spinach gets wilted and gross pretty quickly. So for someone like me, who doesn’t buy groceries too often, that’s quite inconvenient. Instead, you can buy frozen spinach. I used the chopped kind for tonight’s dinner.

Lastly, feta cheese. I buy the big containers of feta, and they haven’t as of yet gone bad before I’ve finished it. But I probably eat more feta than your average person. In any case, it doesn’t go bad as quickly as other cheeses.

Lastly, bread. I have these awesome thin bagels that happen to be my favorite bread right now. Any bread will do really.

Okay, ready for some Spinach, Chicken, and Feta Wrap?

-1 Chicken Breast, frozen

-Spices for chicken

-1 cup Spinach, fresh & steamed, or frozen

-1/2 cup Feta

-Optional: A few slices tomato

-1 tortilla

1. In the microwave, defrost the chicken. I usually nuke on defrost (or 50% power) for 2 minutes. Season with seasoning of choice. I used a grilling spice mix usually used on steak. Salt and Pepper would work too.

2. In a non-stick skillet (lubricated, of course) on medium heat, cook chicken for about 2 minutes on each side. Remember that this might vary depending on the heat and thickness of the chicken. Once cooked all the way though, use two forks to shred the chicken. Do this by holding the chicken in place with one fork, and pulling at it with the other fork. If using frozen shredded spinach, throw it into the pan when the chicken is almost done to defrost it. In a bowl, mix the chicken and spinach together with the feta

3. Place tortilla on the skillet and let it grill for about a minute. Remove it from heat and assemble your wrap by adding the filing to the center of the tortilla, adding fresh tomato (optional) and rolling.

I wrap it in a paper towel, then foil over that, and put it in a paper bag. Usually the one wrap is enough for me, but sometimes I’ll throw in a ziplock full of fresh cut veggies if I happen to have any in the fridge.

You can take this with you to work or school. Its easy to prep the night before, or even in the morning if you have 20 extra minutes. I usually make multiple servings of the filling and keep it either in the fridge or freezer for later. That way if I’m stuck on what to take with me to school I can defrost the filling in the microwave and make a quick wrap in 5 minutes.

Leave a Reply

